

Students Awarded Reach Higher Montana Scholarships Over 800 students applied for 81 scholarship awards

Helena – March 3, 2021 – Montana students from Libby to Wyola – and many communities in between – have been selected to receive the Reach Higher Montana Scholarship for use in the 2021-2022 academic year. Scholarships must be used at accredited Montana colleges (two-year, four-year, public, private, tribal, and vocational institutions).

The following students were selected to receive \$1,000 scholarships:

Carroll College

Katie Donaldson, Havre
Ashley Braaksma, Manhattan
Bellicia Hawk, Charlo
Emma Putnam, Billings
Michael Day, Billings
Katelyn McKay, Helena
Nicole Williams, Seeley Lake
Whitney Durocher, Choteau
Brooklyn Kenelty, Ronan
Cara White, Helena
Abraham Montalvo, Terry
Katherine Bold, Big Sandy

Montana Tech

Emily Kidder, Helena
Emily Ley, Butte
Ethan Smartnick, Boulder
Wayne Ascheman, Townsend
Ethan Nelson, Helena
Samuel Collins, Great Falls
Colt Quinn, Butte
Taylor Liva, Butte

Rocky Mountain College

Brynn Klinefelter, Great Falls Kendall Ard, Billings Lauren Ryter, Hamilton Jolia Buchanan, Thompson Falls

University of Montana

Melissa Paulsen, Bigfork
Shiena Greata Medrano, Missoula
Ann Killen, Huntley Project
Shea Dolan, Billings
Hunter Grimes, Columbia Falls
Megan Andersen, Kalispell
John Milton, Great Falls
Samantha May, Joplin
Aubree Bohrer, Deer Lodge
Brealyn LaRue, Melville
BreeAnna Polk, Browning
Annabelle Brown, Bozeman
Hadley Garsjo, Sidney
Nisa Caye, Stevensville

Flathead Valley Community College

Zevan Walker, Polson Tori Mower, Kalispell

MSU-Billings

Gracey Willis, Laurel

Helena College

Kevin Watson, Great Falls Garrett Hatling, Helena

Montana State University

Brietta Boyce, Winifred Trey Thompson, Libby Lillian Duffy, Kalispell Kelsey Kraft, Laurel Mariah Moulton, Conrad Whitney Barr, Polson Ammon Koch-Ford, Whitefish Madison Wiegand, Simms Tyler Van Steeland, Billings Gabrielle Sexton, Seeley Lake Jacob Martin, Bozeman Tanner Trafton, Lewistown Amy Haughian, Miles City Jazmine Spotted Bear, Cut Bank Rory Schillo, Billings Janell Swanson, Helena Sierra Sievers, Vaughn Cody Stene, Great Falls Garren Stops at Pretty Places, Wyola Hunter Cromwell, East Helena Ashton Lewis, Stevensville Charles Hinchey, Columbia Falls Emily Loos, Butte Emily Ingbertsen, Martin City Jenna Jordan, Corvallis Nyssa Schairer, Corvallis Rane Jackson, Missoula Cody Johannes, Worden Sally Weber, Libby Anna Trudnowski, Butte

University of Montana – Western

Logan Thompson, Bozeman

University of ProvidenceMacy Mangold, Lewistown
Kaitlyn Boberg, Raynesford

Salish Kootenai College Haylee Hoff, Hot Springs Samantha Brooks, Ronan

Fort Peck Community College Nickolas Page, Wolf Point **Gallatin College**Tristan Walker, Belgrade
Sylvia Wilting, Belgrade

The Reach Higher Montana Scholarship program annually awards eighty-one scholarships of \$1,000 each to Montana students. Thirty awards are made to graduating high school seniors, and fifty awards are made to students who are continuing their postsecondary education. In addition, one award is given to a Montana student with military experience in honor of Carl Valvoda, a Montana service member who tragically lost his life to cancer in 2015. This year's Carl Valvoda Scholarship recipient is Kevin Watson, a Great Falls High School graduate attending Helena College.

###

About Reach Higher Montana: Reach Higher Montana is a nonprofit organization headquartered in Helena and working throughout Montana to help students achieve personal success in education, career, and life. In addition to scholarships for students and educators, Reach Higher Montana provides outreach services to students and parents, and delivers a number of impactful programs serving Montana students. To learn more, visit our website, www.ReachHigherMontana.org, or follow us on Facebook and Instagram.

Contact:

Kelly Cresswell, Executive Director 406.422.1275 x 804 kcresswell@reachhighermontana.org